If you’ve deleted an Office 365 group, by default it’s retained for 30 days. This 30-day period is called “soft-delete” because you can still restore the group. After 30 days, the group and associated content is permanently deleted and cannot be restored.
When a group is restored, the following content is restored:
- Azure Active Directory (AD) Office 365 Groups object, properties and members
- Group SMTP address
- Exchange Online shared inbox and calendar
- SharePoint Online team site and files
- OneNote notebook
If you have a connected Microsoft Team or Office 365 Connected Yammer group, that related content is restored, too.
You can also permanently delete a soft-deleted group if you can’t wait the 30 days for the retention period to expire for the content to be permanently deleted.